Login Shopping Cart My Account TrackOrder
 
  Main Books Music DVDs Forum Spotlight Help
  Top 10s Our Picks New Arrivals Great Deals Short Quantities Notable Books
Home > Books > Literature > literary criticism
Search   
Advanced Search
My Emma
and save 10% on your next order.
Special Offers, New Products and Forum Updates
Visit us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter See our Pictures on PInterest
ShoppingCart
 Shopping Cart
0 item(s) in your cart
 
Subtotal : $0.00
HACKER SAFE certified sites prevent over 99.9% of hacker crime.
Icon Description
Our Picks
New Arrivals
Great Deals
Short Quantities
Notable Books
Clearance Sale
Reading Group
More Books
To find more items like this one, go to:
Celtic & Irish
literature
Ulysses and Us: The Art of Everyday Life in Joyce's Masterpiece
 
 
Author
Declan Kiberd.
Publisher Norton  
Format hardcover
Product Dimensions 9.5 x 6.4 x 1.3 inches
ISBN 9780393070996
Pages/Publication Date 399/2009
Daedalus Item Code 21117
This item is not available.
Description
A professor of Anglo-Irish literature at University College Dublin and Ireland's premier literary historian, Declan Kiberd offers this audacious new take on James Joyce's modernist masterpiece. Ulysses, he argues, is not an esoteric work for the scholarly few but rather one rooted in the lives of ordinary citizens, offering a humane vision of a more tolerant and decent life in the modern world. For Kiberd, the seemingly banal hero of Ulysses, Leopold Bloom, embodies an intensely ordinary kind of wisdom and, in this way, offers us a model for living well, in the tradition of Homer, Dante, and the Bible—all of which Joyce drew on in writing his book.

"Kiberd's take on Ulysses should be on every undergraduate syllabus that includes Joyce's epic work, as it is an ideal introduction for the uninitiated—accessible, richly argued, funny and, in a kind of devil's advocacy fashion, begging for rebuttal."—Publishers Weekly (starred review)

 
You might also like:
The Delighted States: A Book of Novels, Romances, and Their Unknown Translators, Containing Ten Languages, Set on Four Continents, and Accompanied by Maps, Portraits, Squiggles, Illustrations, and a Variety of Helpful Indexes
Adam Thirlwell.
Studio: Picador.   Format: paperback. ISBN: 9780312428297.  Daedalus Item Code: 31973
List Price: $20.00 Sale Price: $4.98 You Save: $15.02
Memoir of Italo Svevo
Italo Svevo & Livia Veneziani Svevo. P.N. Furbank, preface.
Studio: Libris.   Format: paperback. ISBN: 9781870352536.  Daedalus Item Code: 40879
List Price: Import Sale Price: $3.98
 
HACKER SAFE certified sites prevent over 99.9% of hacker crime.
Books
Top 10s
Our Picks
New Arrivals
Great Deals
Short Quantities
Notable Books
Clearance
Reading Group Picks
Music
Top 10s
Our Picks
New Arrivals
Great Deals
Short Quantities
Notable Music
Clearance
DVDs
Top 10s
Our Picks
New Arrivals
Great Deals
Short Quantities
Notable DVDs
Clearance
Movie Group Picks
Customer Service
How to Order
FAQ
Contact Us
Feedback
About Us
Privacy Policy
My Account
Register
Forgot Password?
Change Your Info
Order History
Web Site Preference
Easy Order Form
Catalogs
Gift Cards
Track Order
 
Employment
Order online or call 1-800-395-2665 (U.S.) or 1-410-309-2705 (Outside U.S. & Canada)
This site features merchandise from our catalogs and store, in addition to items available only online. Availability may vary.
©2013 Daedalus Books, Inc. | Contact customer service at custserv@daedalusbooks.com