Login Shopping Cart My Account TrackOrder
 
  Main Books Music DVDs Forum Spotlight Help
  Top 10s Our Picks New Arrivals Great Deals Short Quantities Notable Books
Home > Books > History > history
Search   
Advanced Search
My Emma
and save 10% on your next order.
Special Offers, New Products and Forum Updates
Visit us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter See our Pictures on PInterest
ShoppingCart
 Shopping Cart
0 item(s) in your cart
 
Subtotal : $0.00
HACKER SAFE certified sites prevent over 99.9% of hacker crime.
Icon Description
Our Picks
New Arrivals
Great Deals
Short Quantities
Notable Books
Clearance Sale
Reading Group
More Books
To find more items like this one, go to:
military history
political science
The Partnership: Five Cold Warriors and Their Quest to Ban the Bomb
 
 
Author
Philip Taubman.
Publisher Harper  
Format hardcover
Product Dimensions 9.25 x 6.3 x 1.5 inches
ISBN 9780061744006
Pages/Publication Date 211/2006
Daedalus Item Code 33194
List Price: $29.99
Sale Price: $6.98
You Save: $23.01
Qty
          Tell a friend
Our Picks
Description
Offering a clear analysis of the present danger of nuclear terrorism and how it can be prevented, Philip Taubman—a former New York Times bureau chief for both Washington and Moscow—sheds light on one of the most divisive security issues facing the nation today. We are far more vulnerable than we realize, warns Taubman, and with this knowledge, five men who were members of the Cold War brain trust behind the U.S. nuclear arsenal—Henry Kissinger, George Shultz, Sam Nunn, William Perry, and physicist Sidney Drell—are now working to dismantle the nuclear kingdom they worked to build.

"A fascinating, haunting book.... Even for skeptics, Taubman's book provides an important public service by concentrating on nuclear perils that continue to slip our day-to-day notice."—NYTBR

"This brilliant, penetrating study of nuclear threats is in the tradition of David Halberstam and Neil Sheehan. Taubman has, perhaps as importantly, unlocked the history of the war we never had. Readers will tremble at the dangers the world has faced and still faces today."—Bob Woodward

 
You might also like:
The Atlantic Century: Four Generations of Extraordinary Diplomats Who Forged America's Vital Alliance with Europe
Kenneth Weisbrode.
Studio: DaCapo.   Format: hardcover. ISBN: 9780306818462.  Daedalus Item Code: 20220
List Price: $30.00 Sale Price: $5.98 You Save: $24.02
Nixon and Kissinger: Partners in Power
Robert Dallek.
Studio: Harper Perennial.   Format: paperback. ISBN: 9780060722319.  Daedalus Item Code: 22319
List Price: $18.95 Sale Price: $5.98 You Save: $12.97
Uranium Wars: The Scientific Rivalry that Created the Nuclear Age
Amir D. Aczel.
Studio: Macmillan.   Format: hardcover. ISBN: 9780230613744.  Daedalus Item Code: 32001
List Price: $27.00 Sale Price: $5.98 You Save: $21.02
Genius in the Shadows: A Biography of Leo Szilard, the Man Behind the Bomb
William Lanouette. Bela Silard, contributor. Jonas Salk, foreword.
Studio: Skyhorse.   Format: hardcover. ISBN: 9781626363786.  Daedalus Item Code: 33659
List Price: $30.00 Sale Price: $9.98 You Save: $20.02
 
HACKER SAFE certified sites prevent over 99.9% of hacker crime.
Books
Top 10s
Our Picks
New Arrivals
Great Deals
Short Quantities
Notable Books
Clearance
Reading Group Picks
Music
Top 10s
Our Picks
New Arrivals
Great Deals
Short Quantities
Notable Music
Clearance
DVDs
Top 10s
Our Picks
New Arrivals
Great Deals
Short Quantities
Notable DVDs
Clearance
Movie Group Picks
Customer Service
How to Order
FAQ
Contact Us
Feedback
About Us
Privacy Policy
My Account
Register
Forgot Password?
Change Your Info
Order History
Web Site Preference
Easy Order Form
Catalogs
Gift Cards
Track Order
 
Employment
Order online or call 1-800-395-2665 (U.S.) or 1-410-309-2705 (Outside U.S. & Canada)
This site features merchandise from our catalogs and store, in addition to items available only online. Availability may vary.
©2013 Daedalus Books, Inc. | Contact customer service at custserv@daedalusbooks.com
3