Login Shopping Cart My Account TrackOrder
 
  Main Books Music DVDs Forum Spotlight Help
  Top 10s Our Picks New Arrivals Great Deals Short Quantities Notable Books
Home > Books > Literature > literature
Search   
Advanced Search
My Emma
and save 10% on your next order.
Special Offers, New Products and Forum Updates
Visit us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter See our Pictures on PInterest
ShoppingCart
 Shopping Cart
0 item(s) in your cart
 
Subtotal : $0.00
HACKER SAFE certified sites prevent over 99.9% of hacker crime.
Icon Description
Our Picks
New Arrivals
Great Deals
Short Quantities
Notable Books
Clearance Sale
Reading Group
The Way the World Works
 
 
Author
Nicholson Baker.
Publisher Simon & Schuster  
Format hardcover
Product Dimensions 8.75 x 5.6 x 1 inches
ISBN 9781416572473
Pages/Publication Date 317/2012
Daedalus Item Code 30630
This item is not available.
Description
In this collection of essays spanning 15 years, the author of Human Smoke and the National Book Critics Circle Award winner Double Fold ranges from international political controversy to details of his own life, from forgotten heroes of pacifism to airplane wings, telephones, paper mills, David Remnick, Joseph Pulitzer, the OED, and the manufacture of the Venetian gondola. Nicholas Baker writes about kite string and about the moment he met his wife, and surveys our fascination with video games while attempting to beat his teenage son at Modern Warfare 2. In a celebrated essay on Wikipedia, Baker describes his efforts to stem the tide of encyclopedic deletionism, while in another he chronicles his Freedom of Information lawsuit against the San Francisco Public Library. Through all these pieces, many written for The New Yorker, Harper's, and The American Scholar, Baker reveals his keen mind, generous spirit, and far-flung curiosity.

"Baker is one of the most beautiful, original and ingenious prose stylists to have come along in decades . . . and takes a kind of mad scientist's delight in the way things work and how the world is put together."—NYTimes Magazine

"Nicholson Baker is such a swell, smart writer that he rarely—maybe never—tips his hand.... In Baker's view the mundane, closely enough observed, may be the skate key to the sublime."—Washington Post

"A fundamentally radical author ... you can never be sure quite where Baker is going to take you.... [He] is an essayist in the tradition of G.K. Chesterton and Max Beerbohm, writing winning fantasies upon whatever chance thoughts may come into his head."—Financial Times (London)

 
 
HACKER SAFE certified sites prevent over 99.9% of hacker crime.
Books
Top 10s
Our Picks
New Arrivals
Great Deals
Short Quantities
Notable Books
Clearance
Reading Group Picks
Music
Top 10s
Our Picks
New Arrivals
Great Deals
Short Quantities
Notable Music
Clearance
DVDs
Top 10s
Our Picks
New Arrivals
Great Deals
Short Quantities
Notable DVDs
Clearance
Movie Group Picks
Customer Service
How to Order
FAQ
Contact Us
Feedback
About Us
Privacy Policy
My Account
Register
Forgot Password?
Change Your Info
Order History
Web Site Preference
Easy Order Form
Catalogs
Gift Cards
Track Order
 
Employment
Order online or call 1-800-395-2665 (U.S.) or 1-410-309-2705 (Outside U.S. & Canada)
This site features merchandise from our catalogs and store, in addition to items available only online. Availability may vary.
©2013 Daedalus Books, Inc. | Contact customer service at custserv@daedalusbooks.com