Login Shopping Cart My Account TrackOrder
 
  Main Books Music DVDs Forum Spotlight Spotlight Help
  Top 10s Our Picks New Arrivals Great Deals Short Quantities Notable Books
Home > Books > Philosophy > philosophy
Search   
Advanced Search
My Emma
and save 10% on your next order.
Special Offers, New Products and Forum Updates
Visit us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter See our Pictures on PInterest
ShoppingCart
 Shopping Cart
0 item(s) in your cart
 
Subtotal : $0.00
HACKER SAFE certified sites prevent over 99.9% of hacker crime.
Icon Description
Our Picks
New Arrivals
Great Deals
Short Quantities
Notable Books
Clearance Sale
Reading Group
More Books
To find more items like this one, go to:
East Asian
Socrates in Sichuan: Chinese Students Search for Truth, Justice, and the (Chinese) Way
 
 
Author
Peter J. Vernezze.
Publisher Potomac  
Format hardcover
Product Dimensions 9.25 x 6.2 x 0.8 inches
ISBN 9781597976725
Pages/Publication Date 199/2011
Daedalus Item Code 34990
This item is not available.
Description
When philosophy professor Peter Vernezze took a sabbatical to serve as a Peace Corps volunteer in China, he also started a weekly philosophical discussion group with students at Sichuan Normal University in Chengdu. They debated the status of truth, the meaning of life, the reality of fate, the definition of sanity, the necessity of religion, and the value of romantic love. This book, a memoir of those encounters, is essentially a crash course in Chinese culture, both ancient and modern. Each of the 25 chapters focuses on one topic of discussion—always in the form of a question—including: How are ancient conceptions of virtue holding up in a society overrun by capitalism? Are traditionally conservative sexual values going the way of the rickshaw? Can an atheistic country even have a sense of morality? This unprecedented portrait of the Chinese mind allows the up-and-coming generation—known as the "ba ling hou," or "post-1980s generation"—to express its unique perspective on China and on its perceptions of America, as students discuss everything from Confucius to the Edison Chen scandal (a Chinese pop star whose sexually explicit pictures found their way onto the Internet), from classical Chinese poetry to the Super Boy and Super Girl competitions (Chinese versions of American Idol). Throughout, the author provides the intellectual and historical context necessary to appreciate and understand today's China.

"In the vein of Bill Holm's Coming Home Crazy, Socrates in Sichuan is a lively introduction to teaching in China and acclimating to the standards of a provincial teacher's college. Vernezze's respect for and interest in his students' opinions allows their voices to fill the pages, making this an educational portrait of a unique seminar."—Michael Meyer

 
 
HACKER SAFE certified sites prevent over 99.9% of hacker crime.
Books
Top 10s
Our Picks
New Arrivals
Great Deals
Short Quantities
Notable Books
Clearance
Reading Group Picks
Music
Top 10s
Our Picks
New Arrivals
Great Deals
Short Quantities
Notable Music
Clearance
DVDs
Top 10s
Our Picks
New Arrivals
Great Deals
Short Quantities
Notable DVDs
Clearance
Movie Group Picks
Customer Service
How to Order
FAQ
Contact Us
Feedback
About Us
Privacy Policy
My Account
Register
Forgot Password?
Change Your Info
Order History
Web Site Preference
Easy Order Form
Catalogs
Gift Cards
Track Order
 
Employment
Order online or call 1-800-395-2665 (U.S.) or 1-410-309-2705 (Outside U.S. & Canada)
This site features merchandise from our catalogs and store, in addition to items available only online. Availability may vary.
©2013 Daedalus Books, Inc. | Contact customer service at custserv@daedalusbooks.com